16 States And Counting On The Tri-State Quarantine List

Travelers from nearly one-third of the country must quarantine upon entering the New York Tri-State region.

Yesterday New York Governor Andrew Cuomo announced that eight new states meet the metrics for New York’s COVID-19 travel advisory that requires visitors from states with significant community spread of COVID-19 to quarantine for two weeks.

Per Cuomo’s June 24 executive order, the quarantine applies to any person arriving from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a seven-day rolling average or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average.

The same quarantine rule applies in New Jersey and Connecticut to ensure that the tri-state area “is protected from community transmission of COVID-19, while permitting free travel between and among the states,” according to Cuomo’s order.

“The newly added states are California, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada and Tennessee, which join Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas and Utah. Washington was on the original list when the quarantine was announced on June 24, but it was dropped when it was discovered that the state had been included in error.

“As an increasing number of states around the country fight significant community spread, New York is taking action to maintain the precarious safety of its phased, data-driven reopening,” said Cuomo. “We’ve set metrics for community spread just as we’ve set metrics for everything the state does to fight COVID-19.”

MORE FROM FORBESRoad Trip Alert: Travel To Or Through These States Can Mean You Need To Self-Quarantine

The governments of Connecticut, New York, and New Jersey are all asking hotels in their states to inform guests of the 14-day quarantine if they have traveled from one of the impacted states.

The three states are taking slightly different approaches regarding enforcement. In New York, Governor Cuomo said first-time offenders could get slapped with $1,000 fines, while New Jersey and Connecticut are taking more of a public awareness approach and asking individuals from the 16 states to comply voluntarily with the order. “If we find that’s not working, if we find that people are abusing that, we’ll consider some stricter measures for enforcement,” said Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont.

The situation reflects a 180-degree turnaround from several months ago, when the New York tri-state area was the epicenter of the pandemic. Today the tri-state region has a low rate of COVID-19 infections, while states in other parts of the country are experiencing record increases.

New York, New Jersey and Connecticut are three of 11 states that require certain travelers to self-quarantine upon arrival. Some states, like Maine, let travelers avoid the quarantine if they can demonstrate that they tested negative for COVID-19 within several days of arrival.

Yesterday Dr. Anthony Fauci, director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, told Congress that the U.S. is “going in the wrong direction” as the novel coronavirus is surging in dozens of states across the country.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: