The 15th Seoul International Drama Awards Honors Popular Korean Dramas

The 15th Seoul International Drama Awards, an annual awards ceremony based in Seoul, honors excellence in TV productions worldwide. Productions from dozens of countries were nominated in the categories of TV Movie, Mini-Series and Serial Drama, and the newly established Short-Form category. The short-form category consists of half-hour episodes, with special appeal to younger viewers who tend to view content on mobile devices. The winners were announced on Sept. 15.

While the grand prize this year went to the 154-episode Brazilian drama, Orphan of a Nation, nine Korean productions were also in the running. That number is up from 2019 when only two Korean productions were nominated.

The KBS drama When the Camellia Blooms earned five awards, including an Excellent Korean Drama Award for the series, a Best Actress award for actress Gong Hyo-jin, an Outstanding Korean Actor award for co-star Kang Ha-neul, an award for the Best Soundtrack, and a screenwriting award for writer Lim Sang-choon.

tvN’s Crash Landing On You took home two awards, including an Outstanding Korean Actress Award for actress Son Ye-jin and an Outstanding Drama Award for the mini-series. Outstanding Drama Awards were also given to Hot Stove League, starring Park Eun Bin and Namgoong Min; and Extraordinary You, starring Rowoon and Kim Hye-yoon. The Mini-Series Silver Bird Prize was given to  the drama Itaewon Class, starring Park Seo-joon, while the  TV Movie Silver Bird Prize went to the Korean film Everything and Nothing.  

Orphan of a Nation won the grand prize for its storyline about refugees facing hardships but finding love in their new land, Brazil. Also honored were the Columbian serial drama Bolivar, the Chinese serial drama Mr. Fighting, the German TV movie The Turncoat, and the British series World on Fire.

Dramas that adapted Korean content were also considered, including the US adaptation of Bong Joon-ho’s film Snowpiercer and Descendants of the Sun, remade in the Philippines by GMA Network.

This year the ceremony was held without an audience, presenters or winners, due to South Korea’s current coronavirus guidelines.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: